Getting Personal at KC Fringe

Next month, I will perform a one-man show that has taken me 20 years to write. That’s about how long ago I lost my mother to suicide.

For more than half my life, I dealt with every emotion and complication internally. Suicide is an uncomfortable topic and being connected with it so closely was a burden I tried to keep to myself. Not to mention, it made me sad as hell, and no self-respecting teenage boy likes to cry in front of people.

Pretending to be okay made me feel tough, and I thought being tough would eventually make me okay. Fake it ’til you make it, as they say. That unhealthy approach to dealing (or not dealing) with grief eventually bled over into how I handled my own issues. Correcting that approach is no small task.

Many people who struggle with these issues do so in silence, believing they are alone. I want them to know they are not.

If you’ve ever lost someone you didn’t think you could live without, lost someone to suicide, or deal with mental issues you don’t understand and are afraid to talk about, join me at the Kansas City Fringe Festival. I’ve got a story to tell you.

KC Fringe Logo

Mama’s Boy

The Fishtank Theater in Kansas City, MO

Click on dates below to purchase tickets.

Saturday, July 23 – 5:00pm

Thursday, July 28 – 6:30pm

Saturday, July 30 – 9:30pm

 

2 thoughts on “Getting Personal at KC Fringe

  1. Brett Eggert

    I hope you have me in for 7/30. Will get in Friday afternoon. Staying at same hotel as Scott and Mo. I haven’t eaten a booger in at least 52 years

    Reply

Leave a Reply

